Skellefteå · Västerbotten County

EdgeConneX Skellefteå

EdgeConneX data-centre campus planned on part of the former Northvolt site at Bergsbyn in Skellefteå, next to Lyten's battery factory. On 24 September 2026 the municipal building and environment committee granted a permit on the property Ackumulatorn 3 for a new building, DC02, and for converting the existing buildings DS4 and FA03 into DC01. SVT reports that these are the two buildings of phase one, planned to be complete in 2028, and that consultation documents describe seven buildings of 96–150 MW each, with five more planned by early 2031. In February 2026 EdgeConneX described potential campus capacity of up to one gigawatt. A start notice had not been issued in the sources used here.

In developmentGrid: Skellefteå Kraft told SVT in August 2026 that EdgeConneX and Lyten are taking over Northvolt's former grid connections. The contracted capacity is not disclosed.

Fact box

Status
In development
Municipality / county
Skellefteå · Västerbotten County
Announced capacity (definition unclear)
1000 MW · EdgeConneX
Last checked
2026-10-20
Location accuracy
Municipality level
Skellefteå100 km
Approximate Skellefteå location. The site is the property Ackumulatorn 3 at Bergsbyn; building coordinates are not published here.

Phases

  • Phase 1 (DC01 and DC02) — In development
  • Phase 2 (five further buildings) — Proposed

Capacity disclosure

  • Announced capacity (definition unclear)

    1000 MW

    Announced capacity (definition unclear) · announced / planned · 2026 · announced · campus

    ReportedAs of 2026-02-27 · EdgeConneX

    Operator's potential campus figure, subject to administrative and regulatory processes. Not a contracted grid capacity or IT load.

    “a data center campus with potential capacity of up to one gigawatt”

  • IT power

    Not stated in the cited sources

    IT power · current · 2026 · announced · phase

    Unclear / conflictingAs of 2026-10-20 · SVT Nyheter Västerbotten

Planning and grid

Building permit granted 24 September 2026 for DC01 and DC02 (case 2026-3140). A start notice is still required before construction. Consultation with the County Administrative Board is reported to run from autumn 2026 to early 2027.

Skellefteå Kraft told SVT in August 2026 that EdgeConneX and Lyten are taking over Northvolt's former grid connections. The contracted capacity is not disclosed.

Updates

  • 2026-09-24

    Skellefteå grants building permit for EdgeConneX's DC01 and DC02

    The building and environment committee granted a permit for the new building DC02 and for converting DS4 and FA03 into DC01 on Ackumulatorn 3. A start notice is still required before construction.

Context

Related news

Knowledge gaps

  • IT load and contracted grid capacity for the two phase-one buildings are not disclosed.
  • No start-notice date is known.
  • It is not stated whether the building permit has gained legal force.
  • The 96–150 MW per building comes from consultation documents reported by SVT, not from a published operator figure.
  • No building permit has been applied for in phase two, according to SVT.

Sources

  1. Notice of permit: data centres DC01 and DC02 on Ackumulatorn 3 (case 2026-3140) — Skellefteå kommun, 2026-09-28. Checked 2026-10-20.
  2. EdgeConneX data centre moves closer: Skellefteå grants building permit — SVT Nyheter Västerbotten, 2026-10-01. Checked 2026-10-20.
  3. New details on the Skellefteå data centre: seven buildings planned — SVT Nyheter Västerbotten, 2026-09-28. Checked 2026-10-20.
  4. EdgeConneX applies to build two data-centre buildings in Skellefteå — SVT Nyheter Västerbotten, 2026-08-19. Checked 2026-10-20.
  5. EdgeConneX looks to enter Sweden with a Skellefteå campus — EdgeConneX, 2026-02-27. Checked 2026-09-12.

Submit a documented update · Report an error